About the Advisory Councils

The  Advisory Councils (ACs), formerly known as Regional Advisory Councils (RACs), were established as one of the pillars of the EU Common Fisheries Policy (CFP) after the revision in 2002. The overall objective of the ACs is to work towards integrated and sustainable management of fisheries resources, based on the ecosystem approach and the precautionary principle.


Seven ACs are currently operational:


In the new CFP the establishment of four more Advisory Councils has been decided, which are currently being set up:

  • Black Sea AC
  • Outermost Regions AC
  • Aquaculture AC
  • Markets AC


For more information on the legal context of the ACs, download the following documents: